Wind in the willows!

Link Posted on Updated on

I’m very excited as I have ordered some willow for hurdling/ creative constructions on the plot.

When I first took the plot on I experimented with a mini woven retaining wall. Made from my non productive plum tree. (I should explain I was told it was non fruiting and asked to remove it, when I took the plot on. And well… I trimmed it a lot, then a little less each year. It’s now a respectable tree shape; but still doesn’t fruit. I always think maybe it will… But it just doesn’t…. He-he!) Anyway since then I have no materials… Appart from my idea to scavange in the local parks (possibly a bit illegal…So I have not don’t that).

So…I committed! And invested in some willow! And some stakes. I found a rather lovely guide to hurdle making. And yes! I do have a workmate, and I have some determination! So I’m going to give it a try! All I need is a Jig (to set my hurdle poles into). I can see myself getting distracted and building random archways. But first the willow and the soaking.. in my excitement. I hadn’t thought about how I was going to soak these giant sticks. I think the bath is out (its really not socially acceptable to share you bath with willow sticks is it!?); So I’m going to try the water butt at the plot.

5 thoughts on “Wind in the willows!

    deborah @ the magic jug said:
    February 11, 2016 at 8:54 AM

    What a great idea! I shall look forward to seeing how it turns out. I’m lucky enough to have a plentiful supply of willow if I want it, we have a lot growing on our community orchard and cut masses off every year.
    But beware! Make sure the willow is well and truly dead before you put any in the ground – it has an awesome will to live and sprouts up like crazy before rapidly turning into a thicket.

      Bloom or Bust responded:
      February 12, 2016 at 8:27 AM

      Oh wow lucky you! Thanks I will keep your advice in mind… Although I wouldn’t mind a mini willow bed!

    Sue said:
    February 11, 2016 at 1:56 PM

    Your willow project sounds exciting, good luck. Have you thought about putting the willow into an old piece of plastic drain pipe. If you cap one end with a strong plastic bag, taped around securely . You can fill it with water, wiilow canes and stand it against a wall. Hope this helps. Xx

      Bloom or Bust responded:
      February 12, 2016 at 8:23 AM

      That is such a great idea!! I’ll probably be sourcing drain pipe this weekend!

    simoneharch said:
    February 17, 2016 at 2:12 PM

    I’ve thought about ordering some willow as I’d like to make some supports for my roses, similar to the beautiful ones Arne Maynard uses in his gardens. I’ll watch what you make with interest!!!

Leave a Reply

