The giant cucumber week

Posted on

I made it to the plot on Sunday. Time runs away with me on the plot, in a happy way (especially in the sunshine) so complete with suncream I set to work!

Things I did:
-dug up my remaining early potatoes (not so early…but looking lovely) and they have not been attacked by bugs this year! I only stabbed a few. So generally it wasn’t the disaster I was predicting! Yay!!
– dug over the whole bed… watered and then in went… (shop sources plugs ….sorry wanted to give them a running start!) kale, broccoli, cauliflower. Thanks for the suggestions on my last post.

image
Back bed

-I removed my final black fly ridden bean plants and spaced out my chard seedlings a little more…the seedlings are doing really well now and perhaps this is a lesson in patience (as I should have let them get a bit bigger before I moved the first lot) however I am sure they will catch up

image
Chard, peas and leeks

-covered my beetroot plants again as they are determined to push themselves out of the soil
-sowed a new lot of spring onions
-then my assistant came to join me; we sat in the hammock read books and ate chocolate fingers ๐Ÿ™‚

image
Hammock time

On the eat/pick list:
-tomatoes from greenhouse… Just
-Courgette and one huge giant marrow!
-potatoes, all the earliest are stored now
-spring onions, just picking as and when
-rocket and spinach
-one giant cucumber!

image
Giant cucumber

What’s happening:
-my first sunflowers is nearly ready to flower! perhaps by the end of this week!? Only 11 more to go!

image
Sunflower

– my carrot seeds sown on a whim have shooted! So although I don’t reallyย like carrots there is hope for carrots on my plot and will keep assistant happy as he likes then!
– my late sown flower seeds are taking hold and I think I wil need to try and recall what I planted and space then out…. Possibly around the plot. Fingers crossed they might flower before the end of summer!
-sweet peas are making lots of lovely seed pods and drying off nicely! A lovely friend gave me some ‘seed saver’ pots so I can get these into action!
– my snap draggons (sorry I don’t know the grown up name yet) look amazing, as does the cosmos (is that what they are even called?)!! So I am going to try and save some of the for next year.

image
The plot in all its madness

image

Complete with sunflower wall 🌻🌻🌻🌻

9 thoughts on “The giant cucumber week

    beentheredugthat said:
    August 5, 2015 at 9:15 PM

    I enjoyed ‘walking’ around your plot…it looks great with loads of ‘goodies’ ๐Ÿ™‚

    gaiainaction said:
    August 5, 2015 at 9:35 PM

    Beautifully organised garden, enjoyed reading and looking at your photos ๐Ÿ™‚

      Bloom or Bust responded:
      August 12, 2015 at 8:13 AM

      That’s so lovely to know ๐Ÿ˜Š thank you ๐ŸŒป

    Allotmental said:
    August 6, 2015 at 9:55 AM

    Great update. Your plots doing very well!!

      Bloom or Bust responded:
      August 12, 2015 at 8:10 AM

      Thank you. I’m pleased my sunflowers have finally blossomed! ๐Ÿ˜Š

    Gunn4 said:
    August 7, 2015 at 12:28 PM

    It looks very green and welcoming

    Gunn4 said:
    August 12, 2015 at 8:49 AM

    How have you stored your first earlies? We have dug ours up and bagged them to store in the fridge, and planned a few weeks meals based around them.

      Bloom or Bust responded:
      August 12, 2015 at 9:28 AM

      Bagged in hessian stored in cool, dark cupboard…

Leave a Reply

