….just add water

Posted on

The plot has been plodding along. It’s a great time as it mostly takes care of itself… Just add water!

image
Plot madness

The eat list:
-the final onions red and white
-spring onions
-tomatoes! at last!!
-padron peppers
-rocket and spinach
-potatoes

Over the weekend: 2 hours quick visit
-Pulled up my final onions
-moved and spaced my chard seedlings to take up the onions space
-spaced out my sweet pea seedlings

Things I’m excited about this week:
-my sunflowers are looking pretty awesome. Most are lined up along the front edge of my plot. Can’t wait for them to flower!! Think I have about 12 sunflowers dotted around my plot this year.
-more padron peppers. We had our first last week! they were amazing fried in a pan with my courgettes.
-Put another potted courgette in… Taking up the first potatoes spot.

Things I need to do:
-Strawberry runners in pots. I have moved plants every year, but this year the oldies are going to be replaced with baby runners! (finally a chance to tidy up) So I need to get some strong runners set.
-Get some raspberry training wires set up.. As they are starting to get a bit crazy!
-Look at collecting sweet pea seedlings. So I know the colours!!
– Get potatoes up… Asap! As it rained so much I’m just waiting for the right moment!!
-Decide what I can grow in potato bed over Autumn to winter. Any ideas?

I’m reading ‘The Jewel Garden’ by Sarah and Monty Don at the moment. Feeling very inspired!!

10 thoughts on “….just add water

    kaleandhearty said:
    July 29, 2015 at 9:38 AM

    love your site. why not try kale in your potato bed, looks lovely on the plot, especially with frost on the leaves in the winter and very healthy too!

      Bloom or Bust responded:
      July 29, 2015 at 6:04 PM

      I have mixed feeling about kale. But good ideas I will try… Maybe I can learn to love it again!

    Matt @ Garden59 said:
    July 29, 2015 at 1:51 PM

    What a good haul you’ve got. I had a lot of luck with winter salad last year, ordering some plug plants online and getting them in by October.

      Bloom or Bust responded:
      July 29, 2015 at 5:58 PM

      Oh I might try that also! I have grow bags to go into the greenhouse for winter salad.

      Bloom or Bust responded:
      July 29, 2015 at 6:06 PM

      Oh yes you have reminded me I invested in grow bags that I can take into the greenhouse over winter… Need to get seedling going!! Going to be researching tonight!

    Matt @ Garden59 said:
    July 29, 2015 at 7:43 PM

    Here’s how I got on with the winter salad last year: http://garden59.co.uk/2015/05/18/winter-salad-plug-plants/. I reckon it was worth it, particularly as I cheated and bought plug plants 🙂

      Bloom or Bust responded:
      August 12, 2015 at 8:14 AM

      Thanks for inspiration 😊

    Worm stick or weed said:
    July 30, 2015 at 7:51 PM

    I have squash going into my potato bed. I also have kale. Love the stuff – chop it up cook in a hot pan with slices of garlic oil and a good splash of water (not too much) so it almost steams, season with salt and lots of pepper

    Ruthie said:
    August 6, 2015 at 9:17 AM

    What a lovely allotment – love it! How about compromising on the kale thing with cavolo nero – ‘posh’ black tuscan kale. Looks lovely even when you’re not eating it. And btw, thank you for following my roundabout allotment :0)

      Bloom or Bust responded:
      August 12, 2015 at 8:13 AM

      Thank you! Love it too! it’s so nice to see what other bloggers are doing also! My plants got a battering from slugs, but hanging on in there. I might try Nero next year… I have grown it in my first year of plotting… but didn’t really know what I was doing. On the list for next year!

Leave a Reply

