Harvest time…. At least the start!

Posted on

Just a few hours on the plot this weekend.

Harvest list:
-First potatoes…. I dug up the ones that had flopped or looked unhappy. But they have grown a reasonable amount of potatoes! Not the total fail I was expecting.
-Spring onions. I’m just picking off the big ones.
-Red and white onions. My first year of these being a decent size! clearly watering more helped! Again I have only taken the flopped and dried looking.
-Sweetpeas

image
Saturday harvest

-I also have about 3 courgettes ready! One being yellow!! Very exciting. Have picked these now and having Courgette style pasta tonight.

Exciting developments:
-Sunflowers are getting taller, and forming flowerheads!! Can’t wait for these pops of colour!
-tomatoes are just turning, but I don’t have many new flowers. So I shut the greenhouse door today in the hope a bit of humidity might help…
-my late sown flower seeds have germinated outside. So I’m going to space these out a bit…my sowing technique really is a work in progress! Then just hope they speed along… as they are so late going in!

As I take things out I am filling the gaps with what ever I can get my hands on… I had some spare leeks that have gone into my onions gaps. I moved some of my small beetroot seedling to given them a bit more room to grow.

I’m starting to think about next year… Just a bit… And that I might make a growing worksheet. To try and max out each bed all year around!

7 thoughts on “Harvest time…. At least the start!

    Allotmental said:
    July 14, 2015 at 9:56 AM

    Great update. Good to see your harvesting here and there.

    CameraAndQuill said:
    July 16, 2015 at 6:45 PM

    This is my second year with a veggie garden. I love watching everything grow. You have an amazing yield so far. I have only had a few ground cherries, green peppers, lettuce, onions and chives so far. But everything seems to be just ready to burst. I look forward to following your blog!

      Bloom or Bust responded:
      July 22, 2015 at 8:18 AM

      Yes me too! 😊 happy harvesting

    forevergreenhomestead said:
    July 22, 2015 at 6:31 AM

    Your garden is looking great. We just had our first potatoes as well and still not having luck with growing onions of any size. We will try watering more…I’m willing to take all available tips on growing onions, thanks.

      Bloom or Bust responded:
      July 22, 2015 at 8:17 AM

      This is my first year that my onions look worth eating! Other people at the plots seem to find it easy… I’m going to try and get My new ones in before winter this year. Good luck with yours… It’s all about experimenting to see what works 😊

    Sue ( buttonbears) said:
    July 29, 2015 at 2:42 PM

    Hi, love the amount of delicous veg that you have harvested so far this year. I’m itching to get my allotment cleared although it’s all ground work this year. I have a small veg patch and greenhouse in my garden. I’m hoping to be almost self sufficient next year. You have really inspired me. I shall keep watching your blog with interest.
    Sue 🍓🍅🍆🍊🍎

      Bloom or Bust responded:
      July 29, 2015 at 6:09 PM

      Aww that’s great to hear! I really love my allotment. Every year we make a little adjustment to the plot 😊

Leave a Reply

