A week of funshine!

Posted on Updated on

It’s been a busy week….so a quick review….
Birthday. 30. Just enough time to water and save a bee at the plot. Then a mystery day out. Amazing Indian lunch with chocolate samosa. Garden museum. Crazy cocktails at Purl.  And japanese dinner. Lovely day and sunset!

And then we had a week off work. And possibly the best UK weather. Ever!! I have to admit its been much to hot for me at the allotment. Instead we have been rather lazy sitting at the park/ reading/ bbqing/ drinking bubbly/going to the beach/going to Hampton court flower show… All in the glorious sun and heat!! 🙂

With it being so hot the plot has needed a lot of water. And we have started getting crops in, which is always exciting! And it’s non stop sweet pea season.

This week we have had:
Red currants
Broad beans
Spring onions
Sweet peas
Blueberries
Raspberries
Cucumber

Growing success:
-Cucumbers and going like crazy (1st year growing)
-Chillies have flowers!
-Lots of courgette on the way!
-Spring onions (1st year growing)
-Leeks
-Onions!! (First year these have worked!!)

Growing worries:
-Tomatoes seem slow… But making progress
-Potatoes. Only my maincrop have flowered. But we shall see what unfolds.
-garlic epic, but a little less than last year! So that’s a positive at least!

I have started tagging my sweet peas so I know the colours for next year. I ended up with so much white this year! Struggling to know when to stop cutting and just let them go to seed. Any advice?

I’m really pleased with the plot as I feel we have maxed out our growing space this year. The last few years of trail and error are teaching me so much. But there is always a little gap or project to be worked on!!

Photos to follow! And Hampton court show post to follow also!! 🌱

7 thoughts on “A week of funshine!

    deborah @ the magic jug said:
    July 7, 2015 at 9:03 AM

    Congratulations! 30 is a good milestone (and a good age!).
    The Garden Museum is a little gem isn’t it. And very interesting history, with it having been the home of the Tradescant family and the origin of the Ashmolean Museum.
    Congratulations also on the allotment achievements – what a great year you’re having there. I’m impressed by how much you’ve managed to cram in and get out. Isn’t it great when you get to eat a meal that wouldn’t exist if it weren’t for all your hard work.

      Bloom or Bust responded:
      July 7, 2015 at 7:24 PM

      Thank you!! I think people might take me more seriously at the plot too!! 😜 I’m loving the plot this year. Really trying hard to keep it all going 🙂 but loving it!!

    simoneharch said:
    July 7, 2015 at 12:41 PM

    Thank you for your post, I really like reading about what you have coming through!!! I keep cutting my sweet peas and watering well if it’s dry and they last right through to September. Mine haven’t performed at all well this year 😦 I have only 3 flowers so far and the vines are only about a metre high…. the joy of living in the north of England I guess! I will keep feeding them and be hopeful!

      Bloom or Bust responded:
      July 7, 2015 at 7:22 PM

      Oh thank you that’s so nice 🙂 and thanks for advice. I will keep on watering… Just takes so much upkeep!! My speas are getting shorter stems now… Maybe beacause of hot spell?!

    Worm stick or weed said:
    July 7, 2015 at 6:23 PM

    Hi, My cucumber plants are all very small still – even the ones in the greenhouse. When did you sow your seeds & what type are they? Mine are Beth Alpa (min ones) and Marketer. I doubt mine will ever fruit! Amanda

      Bloom or Bust responded:
      July 7, 2015 at 7:19 PM

      Oh no! Sowed my seeds around April… I think I tried something basic as this is my first cucumber attempt. I only have 2… In the greenhouse in grow bags…they seem to love it. And I’m pinning to a bamboo cane as they grow. I started feeding mine recently… Might be worth a try? Let me know how you get on!! 🙂

      Bloom or Bust responded:
      July 7, 2015 at 7:20 PM

      Ps my cucumbers are soooo ugly!

Leave a Reply

