Easter weekend: plot visits

Posted on

I made it down the plot on Easter Sunday! I had a good dig and got one potato bed all set. Just waiting to add the all important potatoes. I did some weeding; this time of year they pop up so fast! But I did have time to admire the welcome weeds…

image
Nice weeds

I fixed a path (removing evil weeds that spread under our paths (when we first got the plot I recall how we thought this was asparagus!… Makes me laugh every time!). It’s one of those necessary but very boring jobs.

Finally finished organising my strawberries! I decided to remove the old aged plants at the end of the bed. And I went back on the Monday and put onions in. (I’m not sure they are exactly companion plants..  But a space is a space… Right?!)

On Monday I went back. And got the remaining onion and garlic in… Just one box left. I am searching for a suitable empty spot.

image
Garlic and onions in

Greenhouse:
-Sweet peas. Ticking along after the re pot.

Seedling trays:
-sunflowers. In hiding still
-borage. Germinated
-lettuce. Germinated… Just about

image
Seedlings

-cat mint… A few tiny seedlings have appeared
-lucky dip. Some little seedling have emerged… Still no ideas! I will have to post photos for help!
-Beetroot. Germinated

image

-Nasturtium. Germinated it’s virtually a weed… But a weed tgat
-tomatoes. Germinated and potted into larger pots
-My back up beans sprouted, and I popped them into the plot yesterday… I had dug up a few poor bean seeds by accident… But a few sown direct into the ground made it! Which was good news!!

image
Beans and tomatoes

Seeds at home:
-Cucumbers… I have about 4 growing away happily. I will move these out to the greenhouse soon!
-Chillies. Growing away happily. I’m going to keep half in the flat and half in the greenhouse as a mini experiment

image
Chillies and Cucumber

-Courgette… Still no shows. This is the one veg I struggle to get going every year. I’m sure it should be easy!!?
-Soybeans. In hiding
-Caped gosberries. In hiding

And then I went home and scoffed lots of chocolate!

image
Easter treats!
One thought on “Easter weekend: plot visits

    pamsyarns said:
    April 7, 2015 at 10:19 PM

    You have been busy! Really surprised about your courgettes. Normally they grow in abundance. Fingers crossed they might come through yet.

Leave a Reply

