Digging, seeds and sunsets!

Posted on

Break time on Saturday… And I came equiped with crisps and tea! I had a nice sit in my comfy chair in the greenhouse listening to the birds sing!

image
Break time!

I have been digging the future potato bed….again. Removing the endless rubble. The bit I dug looked beautiful 🙂 hopefully it will be worth the hard work,  with no funny shaped potatoes. This is my first year using this bed for potatoes. I have to say I’m very inspired by my plot neighbour. Since our first year he has been full of encouragement. He must have come down during last week, as I haven’t seen him this year. He is a stealth gardener! I don’t know how he does it. But it goes from a bit weedy to beautiful fine soil within days… I try to console myself that he has had the plot for a long time. So oneday mine might be like that too!

I took a mini break for the hard digging. And I peered into my caged outdoor seeds. I have been planning to dig this over again as the seeds didn’t take.

image
Caged seeds!

However. I peered closer (I got down to ground level, looking I’m sure like a nut case) And I spotted little shoots of green!! So I had tidy up… And hey presto we have baby spring onions!!

image
Spring onion seeds. Outside!

I can be very impatient with outside seeds. And this just reminds me to sit tight and wait sometimes! If I had time last week, I would have dug over. Lucky escape for these guys!

image
Chilli seeds

And this is my last few chilli seeds coming up (in mini prop at the flat) another story of patience!

I took my friend down to see the plot on Friday and we got treated to this beautiful sunset!

image
Sunset
image
View from the plot sunset

We got some grow bags and a few extra seeds! Now back to reality!

4 thoughts on “Digging, seeds and sunsets!

    beentheredugthat said:
    March 23, 2015 at 7:41 PM

    Comfy chair in the greenhouse…I’m liking that idea! Not sure I can fit one in a 8×4 though 😐

      littlebluejay responded:
      March 24, 2015 at 6:14 AM

      It’s a good escape from the wind and rain! But yes it’s about 6×6 so just about big enough for a pop up chair in the winter 😊

    plumdirt said:
    March 23, 2015 at 10:40 PM

    What a marvelous way to spend your weekend! I, too, get impatient with seeds. I still seem to believe they should sprout as soon as they’re sowed.

      littlebluejay responded:
      March 24, 2015 at 6:16 AM

      Glad it’s not just me! 😊

Leave a Reply

