Getting busy in the greenhouse

Posted on Updated on

We have been away and so I had held back on seed planting. But this weekend I’m getting busy!!

I ran to the plot this morning. My greenhouse bits hadn’t been watered… In nearly… Eeeek!…2 weeks! I literally had a few minutes to water inspect and run for my train to work.

But I’m pleased and surprised to say the sweet peas have germinated! 😁 which makes me a very happy bunny! It’s a bit hit and miss… But I did plant far to many. Also not being watered in 2 weeks may have weeded out the weaklings! Needless to say I gave them a little water. It will be interesting to see what else appears. But they look to be sturdy little seedlings! And most importantly they grew!!

image
Sweet pea seedlings in the greenhouse

And my onions are garlic are also showing signs of life. Garlic is cracking along! But a little water will no doubt help 🙂

image
Greenhouse onions and garlic

And super exciting news! My chilli peppers germinated (at home in mini greenhouse) again a bit hit and miss about 1/2. But chillies are a bit tricky and I did drop my pots on the floor!! So it’s a surprising anything made it!

My green ear was also excited to hear on the radio about Kew gardens setting up a new kitchen garden where the old kitchen garden was! It’s called ‘Kew on a plate’ I assume this was filmed last year so I can’t wait to see the garden this year… I might try and check it out first hand in a few months. The TV program starts on Monday BBC 2! And has the lovely Kate humble presenting! I might have to invest in a Kew pass… So I can perve on the veggie patch through the year!!

6 thoughts on “Getting busy in the greenhouse

    plumdirt said:
    March 14, 2015 at 12:57 AM

    Patient and understanding seedlings are the best kind in my book.

      littlebluejay responded:
      March 19, 2015 at 10:59 PM

      They really are! I just saw 2 more of my chilli seedling are emerging. Nearly a full house! 🌱

        plumdirt said:
        March 19, 2015 at 11:37 PM

        Exciting!

    Bec said:
    March 14, 2015 at 8:04 AM

    I need to plant sone sweetpeas – only got one sunny windowsill and no room for a greenhouse or lean too in the garden. Think its going to be rotational planting 🙂 good luck with everything 🙂

      littlebluejay responded:
      March 14, 2015 at 8:10 AM

      I started mine off inside last year 😊 just have to make sure they dont get to leggy! Good luck with finding space!

        Bec said:
        March 14, 2015 at 8:14 AM

        Thanks – I need to plant sone cosmos too – planted them a couple of years ago – they were great and germinated easily

Leave a Reply

