Très chic on the plot?

Posted on Updated on

I tend to look a bit of a mess when I go to the plot, I am certainly not a style icon. Perhaps that’s why I love it so much! It allows me to indulge my inner scruffy goblin ways!

Gardening is very much about practicality and less about style. But it’s always nice when the two meet. I work in fashion so I’m often curious to see what people wear; for functionality and for fashion. Now that’s a garden lovers ‘coffee table book’ in the making! Like a gardeners version of fruits’

image
Fruits book

I also have the book ‘Garden People’… one of my favourite rainy day reads!

image
Garden people

I hope as I get more experienced on the plot I will learn ways to work the ‘chic mud’ look… For now when I walk to the plot I might not look that bad…When I return I must look like I have been on one of those ‘tough mudder’ assault courses!

image
Birds eye view

… I wear my husband’s shrunken jumper; I shrunk it when he was my boyfriend….He might not have married me; he had known. My evil plan seems to be working as I am now on jumper number 2 :)!…But then the cat decided she liked them too… So it’s a shrunken, cat hair covered jumper! I used to wear jeans… I have upgraded this year to water resistant trousers (amazing!!) I wear a beanie as my hair is insane at the best of times… let alone when it’s drizzly! I have a scruffy waterproof coat… The front is invariably covered in a smear of mud! And then there’s the wellys or boots caked in mud.

Anyway today I saw this hat!

image

It’s so jolly! Neon pink and waterproof!! And with it being pay day I might have to treat myself! As for the rest of my clothing. I think I am doomed to be a messy gardener.

And yippee it’s Friday… I’m already planning the best times for getting to the plot… It looks a bit rainy this weekend. Another good excuse for that rain hat perhaps!

4 thoughts on “Très chic on the plot?

    Bec said:
    February 27, 2015 at 9:29 AM

    That hat is ace 🙂 I’m a very scruffy muddy gardener but then again I live in manchester.

      littlebluejay responded:
      February 27, 2015 at 6:27 PM

      I have purchase the hat 🙂 I figure a hat won’t get too muddy!

    deborah @ the magic jug said:
    February 27, 2015 at 9:59 AM

    Love that hat too! One of my aims for this year is to knit together my twin loves of yarny stuff (crochet, knitting) and growing stuff by decorating the allotment not just with flowers but also with something yarn bomby. Only rules are that must be colourful and wacky!

      littlebluejay responded:
      February 27, 2015 at 6:26 PM

      Sounds like a good plan. how about yarn bombing your tools! 🙂 I might try this too!

Leave a Reply

