Dream balcony/cat garden!

Posted on Updated on

So I feel a bit rotten that our cat doesn’t have a garden. She is a adopted indoor cat but she likes a good sniff and sit in the sun like most fur faces.

image
Our cat in the winter sun!

I have a big net to install and I plan to make a wooden frame so she is 100% safe.

I have done a bit of research and my planting plan is to begin by sourcing below…
1. Cat Grass

image

2. Lemongrass

image

This also keeps mosquitoes away… For some reason we get a lot at the allotment in the evening…. Might have to try this!
3. Catnip
4. Catmint

image

5. Mint
6. Valerian

image

7. Cat thyme
8. Spider plants apparently
9. Honeysuckle

image

I am sitting waiting for my delayed train into work… So musing about gardening is helping to soften my grump and kill some time. Although touch screen gloves would be an idea in the cold!! BRRR!

And I found this image. Is so beautiful!!! I like to think this is how flossie will feel on our balcony! (A bit…he he! 🐱) cat dreams!

image
Cat dreams!
4 thoughts on “Dream balcony/cat garden!

    Roe's Cottage said:
    February 19, 2015 at 12:19 PM

    That will be one stoned cat with all those ‘treats’ growing around it! 😃

      littlebluejay responded:
      February 19, 2015 at 10:24 PM

      Very good point! I will need to space them out! I don’t want her going nutty on the balcony!! So lots of normal plants maybe just 2 cat friend plants. I might need to research further. I found that my two prized house plants were poisonous to cats… So I had to re home the plants. I hope to work on operation… ‘Cat friendly’ the balcony this weekend. I will let you know how I get on!

    Hanwell Life said:
    February 20, 2015 at 6:33 PM

    Your cat is very lucky to have such a thoughtful owner, I love your ideas 🙂

    bluebrightly said:
    February 21, 2015 at 5:55 PM

    Great idea! I too am without a home and yard, but I squeeze things onto the deck, where the birds happily run through pound after pound of birdseed and suet. Thanks so much for the follow – I appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

