Sunny day at the plot :)

Posted on

I got to the plot at around 10 yesterday morning. It was snug in the greenhouse. At a toasty 17 c!

image
Toasty

I dug over my D. carrot bed… And I was feeling all fancy with my twine guide line!

image
Twine guides! Get me!!

I might have got a bit carried away… And sown my carrot seeds. Ooops! Historically I don’t really like carrots. So this is my first attempt at growing them. I fear I have sabotaged myself!! 

image
Beautiful seeds

I then had a mad panic!… And found a closh in my shed!  Which I deformed enough to cover both rows. It was nice and hot today… So it looked like a carrot sauna by the afternoon. Fingers crossed!

image
Carrot sauna!

I also got a bit inspired and started putting sweet pea supports in as mini dividers! Again far to early for this sort of stuff. I just can’t help myself… And makes me look like I have a master plan (i hope) although probably that I am just a bit nutty!

I then had a little lounge in the sun! I am on holiday after all.

image
Lazy day

I got both my potato beds de-stoned and dug over. And had a general tidy at both ends. And added some more sweet pea triangles at the end of the back beds.

image
Ready for action

I built a tomato support system in my greenhouse…. Using various bits from our inherited storage rack… Every year I have issues with my giant tomato plants. This year I have a plan… No more attack of the triffids!

Then I took a photo of the lovely blue sky! 🙂 Could have been summer time!

image
Blue sky in Feb

I organised the new section of my strawberries. Hopefully this means I have an over lap what I take out my 3 year old starwberries. I just need to sort out the crazy back section!…

image
Strawberries

I feel like I am getting set for spring now! But I also got told I can’t have anymore space for my growing 😭… I was hopeful to upgrade to a second half plot. But with requests for space now out weighing demand… It can’t be helped. Which is good news for the allotment site, just not for this ambitious grower! So the plan is that I need to become more ingenious with my space!! I might need to invest in some more growing bags…

Right now time to get set for work… Back to reality! I might have to take myself on a walk at lunch… Think it’s another sunny one today!

5 thoughts on “Sunny day at the plot :)

    Roe's Cottage said:
    February 18, 2015 at 8:35 AM

    Good work! Wish I had the time to do something similar 😟
    Don’t forget you can plant beds twice – you can follow early crops with later ones and double your space that way. I have started my broad beans early so that I can dig them over in June and follow with sweet corn, I plant my leaks (after starting them inside) after my garlic is finished, and winter cabbages go after early peas etc.

      littlebluejay responded:
      February 18, 2015 at 7:47 PM

      Oh I know this is my quiet time at work. So I am making the most of it! You need to sneak away!! Good luck 😜. And that’s a great idea to do half years and prep then in containers. I will do that! I really am really determined to be be organised in my planning this year! Thanks for your ideas! 🙂

    deborah @ the magic jug said:
    February 20, 2015 at 5:00 PM

    Well,looks like you’re getting masses done this week! I’m just hoping the weather stays nice and I get my seeds sown in the greenhouse over the weekend. This time of year everything just feels sooooo hopeful doesn’t it!

      littlebluejay responded:
      February 20, 2015 at 6:20 PM

      It does! 😊 hope you have a good one!

    bluebrightly said:
    February 21, 2015 at 5:56 PM

    Admirable!

Leave a Reply

