Raspberries are go!

Posted on

I was rudely awoken today. Crash bang!… My box of organised seeds went flying with the cat!!

On a positive note my rasberry canes arrived! They were rather smaller than expected… But I suppose they are dormant!!

image
Raspberry canes

Here are the raspberry canes all unpacked. All 3 varieties!!!

And this is today’s plan:
The seeds!!

image
Seeds

Here are my sweet pea seeds. It’s lucky dip sowing this year!

image

I started soaking the seeds today. So hopefully I can get these sown tomorrow.

I have to say the seed plan go shelved and I focus on the raspberries!

I planed to put my raspberries in the back bed on my plot. But I realised I had nowhere to grow my potatoes if I put my raspberries here!!… I have hit the half plot rotation wall! After some debate I found a new spot. I had a good dig and put some good well rotted manure in.

image
Summer and mid season raspberries all spaced out

After some mad digging! Here we go…

image
Canes all in!

Hopefully the hard graft is done for now! I just need to fix up the wooden frames and some good mulch materials…

I took a photo of my strawberry growing tube! That I planted up last week.

image
Strawberries!

After all the hard work I had a little sit! So I went home and ate lots of chocolate! 🙂

image
A rare sit down at the plot
3 thoughts on “Raspberries are go!

    horticulturalhobbit said:
    February 15, 2015 at 8:06 PM

    oooh, good luck with the raspberries, what varieties did you go for? Planted some myself yesterday to go with a batch plugged in last year.

      littlebluejay responded:
      February 15, 2015 at 8:23 PM

      Thank you! I might need it… I went for…
      ‘Glen Moy’ (Early season summer fruiting).
      ‘Glen Ample’ (Mid season summer fruiting) ‘Joan J'(Late season)
      Fingers crossed! What have you tried?

        horticulturalhobbit said:
        February 15, 2015 at 8:35 PM

        I have glen cova, tullamean, malling jewel, autumn bliss and fall gold. Quite a few varieties.

Leave a Reply

