Potato sunbathing!

Posted on Updated on

Our potatoes arrived the week before last (yippee!)… As I’m sharing half with my mother, she kindly offered to chit them on her super sunny window sill! Hopefully they will get a flying start! Here they are sunbathing!! Oh for the life of a potato!

image
Potatoes at the ready!

We ordered:
Potato ‘Rocket’ (First Early)
Potato ‘Pentland Javelin’ (First Early) Boiling as a salad or new potato.
Potato ‘Lady Christl’ (First Early)  Potato ‘Kestrel’ (Second Early)
Potato ‘Desiree’ (Early Maincrop)
Potato ‘Cara’ (Late Maincrop)

In previous years I have gone a bit wild on poatoes. Only having a half plot I usually run out of space!! So this year we have hopefully ordered a sensible amount of potatoes.

Going for the Easter weekend as a good potatoes in date… I think that’s the potato law?! Right?

I’m looking forward to the coming weekend dig! Fingers crossed it’s a sunny one! 🌞

4 thoughts on “Potato sunbathing!

    deborah @ the magic jug said:
    February 13, 2015 at 8:16 AM

    Ooh how exciting! I’m off to collect mine from our local allotment association tomorrow. I’ll be interested to hear about the results you get from all those different varieties. Let’s hope we have a good growing season this year!

      littlebluejay responded:
      February 13, 2015 at 6:15 PM

      Great news!… Mine had lots of holes last year. So fingers crossed for a good year!

    Flighty said:
    February 14, 2015 at 3:36 PM

    I grow Kestrel and Desiree as well. My favourite variety is Charlotte. xx

      Flighty said:
      February 14, 2015 at 3:38 PM

      I meant to also say that I plant mine from mid-March into early April, weather permitting starting with the first earlies through to the main crop ones. xx

Leave a Reply

