To my sweet pea

Posted on Updated on

I’m a little obsesed with sweet peas, and very determind to grow them for a second year. Last year we grew a few for our wedding… So now when I see sweet peas it makes me smile! Mainly because of how much I was willing them to bloom!

Here they are probably early July… When they were in full bloom. We had been away on honeymoon for 2 weeks. So we probably missed the best blooms. But it was a nice suprise when we got back.

image

Here are some I collected for a neighbour

image

This is one of the bunches….at our wedding. These ones literally bloomed the day before the wedding in June.

image

We had a florist to do the house flowers. That equally became an obsession on its own right. I did learn something… That florists and I really don’t really work. I much prefer the growing!

This year I am trying to work out new ways to squish sweet peas into the ends of beds…. Then I found this inspiration image online! Which looks rather pretty!

image

I collected pea children from last year, and I am planning to soak and sow them soon indoors. Hopefully with a cosy start they will get nice and strong like last years plants. I’m always a bit nervous starting seeds now as they can get a bit leggy. Looking forward to getting them growing!

5 thoughts on “To my sweet pea

    Tish Farrell said:
    February 9, 2015 at 9:17 AM

    Good luck with the sweet peas. You could start them now. They like the cold, or so I read. The ones I germinated in Nov and kept in the polytunnel, look OK. Once they’ve germinated and grown on a bit you can pinch out the tops to make them more bushy. And thank you so much for that pic of the sweet pea arch. That is a gorgeous idea – an arch to sniff under and be transported 🙂

      littlebluejay responded:
      February 9, 2015 at 7:15 PM

      I might get my sweet peas in next weekend then 🙂 cant wait!! Yes i think the arch would be a fun experiment! Let me know if you try it too

    […] Bloom or Bust has a great idea for trailing sweet peas. She also used them in her wedding, which I think is the sweetest of all. […]

    Gallivanta said:
    April 3, 2015 at 2:35 AM

    Sweet peas are perfect for a wedding, and for every day, too. May your sweet peas flourish.

    Boomdeeadda said:
    April 3, 2015 at 5:41 AM

    Always one of my favourite garden friends, I love that Sweet Peas are delicate, bug free and smell great. The wedding flower jars are really cute! Congratulation’s 😀 The Sweet Pea-T Pea is not only cute and functional, it’s also fun to say.

Leave a Reply

